Thompson new chair of Board of Supervisors

Dave Thompson has been named the new chair of the Marshall County Board of Supervisors after being nominated by previous chair, Denny Grabenbauer.

Thompson was elected to the one-year post by the three-member board Wednesday after Grabenbauer served as chair for the past two years. Deane Adams was re-elected to be vice chairman of the board.

Members are voted onto the board by the voters in the county, but the leadership positions are elected by the members themselves.

Thompson doesn’t feel that his leadership will change how the supervisors operate, as the three members have always made a good team.

“We all work together, not only as a board, but as a county,” Thompson said.

Grabenbauer said it has been a pleasure to serve as chair and said Thompson is “very capable” to take over the position. Grabenbauer was recently elected by voters to his second three-year term on the board. He echoed Thompson’s comments as far as working together on the board.

“We are all equal,” Grabenbauer said.

Thompson has served on the board for two years and is owner of Thompson True Value Hardware in Marshalltown. He said he looks forward to leading the supervisors, but also said there are several challenges in the future including watching the budget, the cost of health care and the aging infrastructure in the county.

In other action taken during Wednesday’s meeting, the supervisors approved several different board and commission appointments including a three-year term for Rita Riskedahl on the Board of Health.

She replaces Mary Bartine on the board, who resigned at the end of last year.

The board approved the hiring of Kiyoko Balk as an assistant county attorney to replace an employee who left the county. Balk will be paid an annual salary of $54,000.