Fifteen more school staff members take early retirement

Fifteen additional Marshalltown Community School District employees have decided to take the early retirement incentive package and will retire at the end of the current school year. Their retirement was approved by the Marshalltown School Board at its meeting Monday.

That brings the total staff members taking the package and retiring early this year to 31. These 31 staff members have a total of 791 years of experience in the district and 24 of them are teachers.

“We’ve got a lot of experience and knowledge that’s leaving with these individuals,” said MCSD Superintendent Marvin Wade. “They will be sorely missed by the district.”

The list of the 15 staff retirees approved Monday includes Tim Bell, Marsha Eppert, Molly Ferrin, Mary Fitzgerald, Carolyn Hanchak, Catherine Hansen, Julie Harvey, Shirley Mann, Peggy Niedermann, Sally Robertson, Paula Rutherford, Nancy Van Wyk, Ellen Youds, Valerie Strong and Brenda Walkup.

The list is now set as the deadline to apply for early retirement was Jan. 4.

The increase in staff members taking the incentive of health insurance after their retirement is apparently due to the policy not being continued in 2014. The school district will save money with this many retirements as they can now pay less for less qualified staff members. The board decided to discontinue the policy for 2014 with the idea that it would attract more retirees now as there are some budget concerns later this year.

“It will lessen the shortfall we have,” Wade said. “It provides us some flexibility.”

The next regular meeting of the school board will be at 5 p.m. Jan. 21 at district offices. Wade said this meeting will include the updated design plan for the Marshalltown High School Roundhouse renovation by the selected architect, RDG of Des Moines.