IHSAA announces district, substate assignments

The Iowa High School Athletic Association released its boys’ basketball district and substate pairings and the Bobcats could play one of two ranked teams.

Marshalltown was placed into Class 4A, Substate 8 for the postseason and that substate includes No. 7 Des Moines Hoover and No. 8 Urbandale. The Bobcats also could be matched up with Newton, Southeast Polk or Indianola.

Marshalltown has played every team in its group and went 2-3 following wins over Indianola and Newton and losses to Hoover, Urbandale and Southeast Polk.

In Class 3A, the South Tama County Trojans will be in Substate 6, along with seven other unranked teams. The other seven schools include Bondurant-Farrar, Centerville, Chariton, Grinnell, Knoxville, Oskaloosa and Pella.

Grinnell has been ranked as high as No. 4 this season but fell out of the rankings this week.

All three of the area’s Class 2A teams will be paired up in the same district. West Marshall, East Marshall and South Hardin will all be in District 6 along with Aplington-Parkersburg, Dike-New Hartford and Hudson. None of those teams are currently in the top 10 of the rankings, but West Marshall received four votes this week.

Area teams in Class 1A were broken down into two districts but the majority of the squads were placed into District 8.

Grundy Center, AGWSR, Colo-NESCO, BCLUW, Gladbrook-Reinbeck, North Tama and GMG will be joined by CAL, Northeast Hamilton and Valley Lutheran.

North Tama received 15 votes in this week’s Associated Press poll and has been ranked this season but no other team in the district is ranked. Gladbrook-Reinbeck has lost just once, while Colo-NESCO defeated No. 10 Ankeny Christian Academy on Monday.

The final area team is Meskwaki Settlement School, which will play in Class 1A, District 7. Joining the Warriors will be Belle Plaine, BGM, English Valleys, HLV, Iowa Mennonite, Iowa Valley, Lynnville-Sully, Montezuma and Tri-County.

Iowa Mennonite defeated Gladbrook-Reinbeck in last year’s substate final.

Matchups for each district and substate will be determined at a later date.