SPORTS SHORTS: Academic honors for former preps

Nine former area high school student-athletes have been honored with selection to their respective conference’s 2012 Fall All-Academic teams.

The Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference included seven former preps on its 2012 Fall All-Academic list: Oketekyie Dawka-Agyekum, sr., Luther men’s soccer, accounting (Marshalltown High School); Lizz Heying, so., Wartburg women’s tennis, business administration (Marshalltown); Katelynn Sjoblom, so., Simpson volleyball, athletic training (West Marshall); Wyatt Hanus, sr., Dubuque football, business marketing and accounting (North Tama); Alexa Rohach, jr., Simpson volleyball, athletic training (South Tama); Chelsea Keninger, sr., Wartburg cross country, psychology (AGWSR); and Nora Seda, jr., Buena Vista women’s golf, elementary education (North Tama).

Two area graduates are members of the Southwest Minnesota State University football team and earned recognition with the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference’s Fall All-Academic squad: Tyler Peschong, sr., marketing (Marshalltown); and Austin Nichols, sr., agricultural business (West Marshall).

Dodgers rally past MHS freshman boys

FORT DODGE – Fort Dodge finished the game on a 10-0 run to take a win away from the Marshalltown freshman boys’ basketball team, 38-32, Friday night in CIC Northern Division play.

The Bobcats (8-9, 1-3) were led by Tony Smith with 11 points, while Kyler Ladehoff and Sam Rogers added five points apiece. Trevor Fuccio and Drake Slifer both scored four points.

MHS is back on the court Tuesday at Ankeny, taking on the Hawks at 6:15 p.m. at Northview Middle School.