Four Hawkeyes earn all-Big Ten recognition

The Big Ten Conference announced postseason honors for women’s basketball Monday and four Iowa Hawkeyes were honored.

Senior Morgan Johnson was named to the second team by both the coaches and media, while Samantha Logic earned third-team recognition from the media and honorable mention honors from the coaches.

Senior Jaime Printy grabbed honorable mention honors from both the media and coaches, and sophomore Melissa Dixon was given the Big Ten Sixth Player of the Year Award.

“In my opinion, Morgan Johnson is the most talented post player in our league,” Iowa coach Lisa Bluder said. “We play in a very difficult conference that is filled with talented players. It’s a big honor for Morgan to be recognized as one of the top 10 players in the Big Ten.”

Johnson averaged a team-best 15 points, 7.5 rebounds and had a team-high 58 blocks this season for the Hawkeyes, who grabbed their 19th win overall Sunday at Northwestern.

“Morgan has performed at a very high level throughout her senior season,” Bluder said. “She has done a great job on the glass for us this year and everyone knows how talented she is on the defensive end.”

Logic is a just a sophomore but set a new school record with 198 assists this season. She also averaged 9.2 points and 6.4 rebounds per game while collecting a team-high 56 steals.

“Sam has been our floor general all season,” Bluder said. “She has done a great job of leading our team on the court and we can rely on her to contribute in the areas where we need her the most on a given night. Sam is one of the most exciting players to watch in our conference.”

Dixon made her mark with the Hawkeyes from behind the 3-point line. She has recorded some big-time scoring efforts for Iowa when it needed points on the scoreboard, including a 22-point and 21-point effort in the two most recent games. Dixon averaged 10.3 points per contest.

“I’ve been saying all year that Melissa was a lock for this award,” Bluder said of the Big Ten Sixth Player of the Year Award. “What she has accomplished this year is the definition of this award. She provided a huge spark for us off the bench and has put together some incredible performances. Melissa is very deserving of this award.”

Printy averaged 13 points and 4.3 boards per game this year as she worked her way back from a torn ACL, which she suffered midway through last season.

She will be regarded as one of the best players to ever play for Iowa when her career ends.

The Hawkeyes will play in the 7-10 matchup in the Big Ten Tournament, which begins Thursday. Iowa finished 8-8 in league play.

Penn State won the regular season title for the second straight season. Maggie Lucas was named Big Ten Conference Player of the Year by both the media and coaches, while PSU coach Coquese Washington was Coach of the Year by the media.

Connie Yori of Nebraska earned Coach of the Year honors from the coaches, while Northwestern’s Maggie Lyon was the Freshman of the Year and Illinois’ Adrienne GodBold was the Defensive Player of the Year.