Penn State scores B1G three-peat

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. – The University of Iowa wrestling team placed third at the Big Ten Championships Sunday after going 0-for-4 in the finals and 3-for-5 in third-place matches.

The Hawkeyes totaled 133.5 points to trail Penn State (151) and Minnesota (139) in the final team standings in failing to crown an individual champion for the first time since 2006.

The Nittany Lions won their third straight conference tournament in Cael Sanderson’s fourth season as head coach. Penn State was 4-0 in championship matches, led by 2013 Wrestler of the Year Ed Ruth.

Ruth (184), David Taylor (165), Matt Brown (174) and Quentin Wright (197) each captured titles for the Nittany Lions.

Iowa had nine wrestlers finish fourth or better, more than any other school, but fell to third place. All nine wrestlers automatically qualify for the NCAA championships March 21-23 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

“I could be very generic in my comments, and I am, but in my head there are a lot of specifics,” said Iowa coach Tom Brands. “We have to be tougher. There’s no doubt we need to do certain things to be tougher. It starts with finishing. It starts with urgency in those situations.”

The Hawkeyes’ day started with five wins in the consolation semifinals. Derek St. John (157), Ethen Lofthouse (184) and Bobby Telford (285) each advanced to the third-place match and picked up their second victories of the day, while Nick Moore (165) and Nathan Burak (197) were denied.

In the championship round, top-ranked Matt McDonough was handily defeated 10-4 by Illinois’ Jesse Delgado, rated third.

In the 133 title bout, Ohio State’s top-ranked Logan Stieber scored a 3-1 win in overtime against Iowa’s No. 2 Tony Ramos. Next up at 141 was OSU’s No. 1 Hunter Stieber, taking down third-ranked Hawkeye Mark Ballweg, 8-3.

PSU’s Brown, ranked fifth, got his title by beating Iowa’s second-ranked Mike Evans 7-3 at 174 pounds.

UNI crowns two champs

BUFFALO, N.Y. – The Northern Iowa wrestling team crowned two individual champions in its first appearance in the Mid-American Conference tournament, and the Panthers will send at least four wrestlers to the NCAA championships.

With 83 points, the Panthers placed third behind Missouri (136) and Central Michigan (88). Kent State was a close fourth with 82 points.

“The MAC was good for us,” said UNI coach Doug Schwab. “This is the kind of competition we are going to see at the national competition.”

Joey Lazor (141 pounds) scored a 1-0 win over Nick Fanta of Northern Illinois to win the first of two Panther championships. David Bonin picked up a late reversal to salt away a 5-2 victory over Missouri’s Kyle Bradley at 157.

Runner-up finishes from Levi Wolfensperger (133) and Ryan Loder (184) were good enough for automatic qualification for the NCAA tournament March 21-23 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines. Wolfensperger was defeated 8-0 by Nathan McCormick of Missouri in the finals, while Loder was defeated 5-3 by second-ranked Ben Bennett of Central Michigan.