Seeds, brackets announced for NCAAs

The NCAA Wrestling Championships will be hosted by Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines this year. And official tournament brackets and seeds were released Wednesday.

The Iowa wrestling team will send nine wrestlers to the national tournament but not one will be seeded in the top spot. Juniors Tony Ramos and Derek St. John both received No. 2 seeds to lead the way, while senior Matt McDonough and Mike Evans are both three seeds.

Iowa State will have seven wrestlers in the national tournament and its best chance at a national championship will be with Big 12 champion Kyven Gadson, who is ranked No. 6 at 197.

Also competing in the national tournament will be Northern Iowa, which will send four grapplers under coach and former Iowa Hawkeye Doug Schwab.

The Hawkeyes finished a disappointing third at the Big Ten Championships last weekend and did not have an individual champion for the first time since 2006.

Five of Iowa’s nine wrestlers headed to the national tournament are top-six seeds.

That list includes third-seeded McDonough at 125, second-seeded Ramos at 133, second-seeded St. John at 157, third-seeded Evans at 174 and sixth-seeded Bobby Telford at heavyweight.

Senior Mark Ballweg is seeded 7th at 141, while sophomore Nick Moore is 10th at 165. The other two grapplers competing will be Ethen Lofthouse (12th) at 184 and unseeded Nathan Burak at 197.

Iowa has sent at least eight wrestlers to the national tournament in each of coach Tom Brands’ seven seasons.

The Cyclones’ representatives for the national tournament will be Luke Goettl at 141, Max Mayfield at 149, Michael Morena at 165, Tanner Weatherman at 174, Boaz Beard at 184, Gadson at 197 and Matt Gibson at heavyweight.

The four wrestlers competing for Northern Iowa will be Levi Wolfensperger at 133, Joey Lazor at 141, David Bonin at 157 and Ryan Loder at 184.

The NCAA Championships begin at 11 a.m. on March 21 inside Wells Fargo Arena.