NICL TRACK & FIELD: Area athletes shine at NICL indoor meet

WAVERLY – Several area athletes put together some impressive performances at the North Iowa Cedar League indoor track and field meet held at Wartburg College on Friday night.

Winners on the boys side included AGWSR’s Isaac Montes in the 1,600-meter run, South Hardin’s Tim Rose in the 3,200-meter run, South Hardin’s Bryce Zeisneiss in the shot put and South Tama County’s Sam Kuhter in the long jump.

Montes finished his mile in 4 minutes, 36.99 seconds, while Rose hit the line in 10:29.58 in the 3,200.

Three relay teams also placed in the top three spots.

AGWSR’s 4×800-meter team of Montes, Miguel Reyes, Kendal Gast and Sully Hofmeister took the top spot with a time of 8 minutes, 53.99 seconds. The Cougars also took third in the 1,600-meter medley relay with Dylan Heetland, Cody Williams, Simon Hault and Hofmeister hitting the line in 4:02.92.

Coming in just ahead of AGWSR in the medley relay was South Hardin’s foursome of Glendon Mesch, Zeisneiss, Levi Cook and Rose. That group was second with a time of 4:02.29.

Plenty of second-place finishes in individual events also were claimed by area athletes.

East Marshall’s Zach Reubenbauer claimed the silver medal in the 200-meter dash with a time of 24.41 and South Hardin’s David Shindelar was second in the 400 with a time of 54.53. Will Garber of BCLUW was second in the 55-meter hurdles as he hit the line in 8.11 and Rose also placed second in the 1,600-meter run with a time of 4:55.67. The other runner-up finish was South Hardin’s Sam Shindelar in the high jump as he cleared 5 feet, 9 inches.

Luke Asche of BCLUW was third in the 200, East Marshall’s Mitch Berry was third in the 400 and Sam Shindelar was third in the 55-meter hurdles. South Tama County’s Clay Waterbury also finished behind Montes and Rose in the 1,600 and East Marshall’s Ben Terrones was third in the 3,200. South Tama County’s Kyle Stephenson rounded out the third-place finishes with a leap of 19-11.75 in the long jump.

Boomgarden, Vawter lead area girls

South Hardin’s Sarah Boomgarden and BCLUW’s Mallory Vawter each took home one first-place finish at the annual North Iowa Cedar League indoor meet at Wartburg College.

Boomgarden led the way among area athletes as she scored a first-place finish in the high jump with a leap of 5 foot, 3 inches, and then also grabbed second-place tallies in the 55- and 200-meter dash.

Boomgarden hit the line in the 55 in 7.65 seconds, while also finishing the 200 in 27.86.

Vawter ended up with a win in the 55-meter hurdles as she crossed the line in 8.62. She also was second in the long jump with a leap of 16-4.25.

Other top area finishes included a first-place tally from the East Marshall medley relay team as well as a first-place throw in the shot put from West Marshall junior Jennifer Davis.

The Mustang relay team included Theresa Hatch, Meriel Leavy, Kelsea Anderson and Brooke Miller and that foursome hit the line 4:48.44, while Davis’ winning throw in the shot put was marked at 38-7.

Victoria Pothast helped West Marshall claim two second-place finishes as she scored a runner-up finish in the 400-meter dash with a time of 1:02.49 and then her and teammates Madie Streeter, Shelby Larsen and Kailyn Brewer-Reece claimed second in the 4×400-meter relay with a time of 4:31.84.

East Marshall’s Paige Miller claimed two runner-up tallies in the 1,500- and 3,000-meter runs. Miller finished her 1,500 in 5:25.56 and hit the line in the 3,000 in 11:32.22. South Hardin’s Claire Damon was third in the 1,500 with a time of 5:34.64 and South Tama County’s Taylor Ellenbecker was third in the 3,000 as she was clocked at 11:57.49.

East Marshall’s Haley Fye was third in the 800-meter run, Belle Tyynismaa of South Tama County was third in the 400-meter dash and teammate Samantha Holz was third in the shot put. Kaleigh Seick of STC also finished fourth in the shot put and Maddie Bacon was just behind Tyynismaa in the 400 with a fourth-place tally.

The next best area finish in the relays came from BCLUW in the 4×800. The Comets foursome of Becca Steckelberg, Lizzie Toner, Reeba Box and Haley Veldhouse hit the line in second with a time of 11:00.75. Coming in third in the 4×800 was the South Tama County foursome of Kelsey Kupka, Ellenbecker, Bacon and Trisha Walz.

South Tama County also finished one spot behind West Marshall in the 4×400. That foursome included Bacon, Jade Rohach, Paige Balvin and Samantha Magpie.