NT’s Boerm unanimous all-Iowa Star

Mitchell Boerm and Kory Kuenstling shared the paint in a battle for Iowa Star Conference supremacy in February.

Boerm and North Tama got the better of the dual, though the duo found themselves brushing shoulders again as the only unanimous selections on the five-player Iowa Star Conference Elite Team as voted by the league’s coaches.

Boerm, an Iowa Newspaper Association all-state second team honoree, led North Tama to the school’s first-ever state tournament berth en route to a fourth-place finish and a school-best 26-3 record.

Kuenstling, an INA all-state third team selection, guided the Raiders to the Iowa Star Conference North Division title. Joining the pair were Tripoli’s Austin Newbrough, Colo-NESCO’s Brandyn Niemeyer and North Tama’s Jacob Wrage.

Boerm and Wrage were both unanimous picks for the All-Iowa Star Conference South Division first team, along with GMG junior Luke Petty. Niemeyer and the Redhawks’ Dalton Hulme also made the squad.

Boerm earned his second straight unanimous selection to the league’s Elite Team after leading the Redhawks in both scoring (15.3) and rebounding (6.3) on the way to a third straight Iowa Star Conference South Division title. The senior also nabbed his third consecutive ISC first team selection.

Wrage, a senior, garnered his second straight first-team unanimous selection averaging 10.7 points, 4.6 assists (best in the division) and 3.2 steals (best in the conference) per outing.

Niemeyer, a second team representative in 2012, led the entire Iowa Star Conference in scoring at 19.3 points a game, while also topping the South Division with 9.5 rebounds per tilt. Petty paced the Wolverines with 12 points a night, third best in the division, while also leading GMG with 53 steals, good for fifth in the South.

Hulme, a second-team honoree a year ago, contributed to North Tama’s balanced attack with 9.7 points per game. The senior finished second on the team in assists (102) and third in steals (58).