Bobcat girls golf to head east for regionals

The Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union released the regional girls golf sites for all five classes today and the Marshalltown Bobcats will head east and be paired with two teams which finished in the top 10 last year.

MHS heads to Gardner Golf Course in Marion and will play in Region 3 on May 20. Also playing with the Bobcats will be Ottumwa and Dowling Catholic, who finished fourth and seventh last year at the State Golf Championships.

Joining the three CIML teams in Marion also will be Burlington, Cedar Rapids Jefferson, Cedar Rapids Kennedy, Cedar Rapids Prairie, host Cedar Rapids Washington, Iowa City West and Muscatine.

West Marshall and GMG will both be host sites for their respective regionals.

The Class 3A Region 3B site will be played at Lincoln Valley Golf Course. Joining the Trojans will be East Marshall, South Tama County, South Hardin, Anamosa, Iowa Falls-Alden and Union Community.

The first round of the Class 1A through Class 3A regional tournament will be May 13, and the final round is May 20.

GMG will host the Class 1A Region 3A tournament at Oakwood Golf Course in Conrad. Joining the Wolverines will be Grundy Center, Colo-NESCO, Ankeny Christian, Belmond-Klemme, Madrid, Northeast Hamilton and Southeast Webster-Grand.

The other Class 1A regional tourney involving area teams is the Region 3B site at Traer. The Traer Golf and Country Club will be hosting North Tama, Gladbrook-Reinbeck and Meskwaki Settlement School, while host Don Bosco, Clarksville, Rockford and Wapsie Valley also will be present.

The two Class 2A sites involving area teams will feature BCLUW and AGWSR.

The Comets will play at Foxridge Golf Course in Dike for the Class 2A Region 3B tournament. Joining BCLUW will be host Dike-New Hartford, Colfax-Mingo, Des Moines Christian, Panorama, Van Meter, West Central Valley and Woodward-Granger.

AGWSR will head to Lake Mills for its Class 2A Region 4B tournament. Joining the Cougars at Rice Lake Golf Club will be Aplington-Parkersburg, Eagle Grove, Hudson, host Lake Mills, Nashua-Plainfield, North Butler, St. Ansgar and West Fork.