Mustangs win tiebreaker at WM meet

STATE CENTER – Riding its depth to a NICL West Division title Monday, the East Marshall boys golf team needed it again Tuesday.

Squeezing out victory with a fifth-golfer tiebreaker, the Mustangs edged host West Marshall in a triangular at Lincoln Valley Golf Course.

Both squads scored 177, though East Marshall’s Austin Weese (48) secured the victory, inching one stroke past West Marshall’s Garrett Goodwin. Colo-NESCO took third with a tally of 214.

NICL West Division runner-up Zach Underhill fired a six-over 41 for medalist honors, while the Trojans’ Nate Byerly tallied runner-up with a 42. Isaiah Texeira’s 48 paced the Royals.

East Marshall’s Nate Rosjford and Max Upah added 48s, while Zack Johnson added a 46.

Eric Newton (44), Nick Lanning (45) and Dylan Petermeier (46) completed the Trojans’ top foursome.

Cole Ozbun (51), Zack Risdal (54) and Austin Key (61) chipped in for Colo-NESCO’s top quartet.

STC’s Van Dyk, West Marshall girls prevail

South Tama County’s Paige Van Dyk continued her dominance with a five-over 40, though the West Marshall girls golf team took the team crown with a score of 209.

Van Dyk, the NICL West Division champion, finished seven strokes ahead of West Marshall’s Kenadey Porter and Alyssa Kozak of East Marshall. STC (221) fended off the Mustangs by three strokes for second.

Shayla Moler added a 49 for the host Trojans, while Claire Underwood added a 52 and Rory Dunn and Savannah Zahnd shot 61s.

Erin Clayton (57), Elysiana Gonzalez (60) and Erin Clayton (64) also represented South Tama. Sidney Henricks (51), McKenzie Fahrni (61) and Bre Stuart (65) completed the Mustangs’ top four.