Hawkeyes draw Notre Dame in Big Ten/ACC Challenge

IOWA CITY – Iowa coach Fran McCaffery will welcome one of his former schools to Carver-Hawkeye Arena next season.

The matchups for the Big Ten/ACC Challenge were announced Wednesday and the Hawkeyes will face Notre Dame, which McCaffery served as an assistant at for 11 years.

“It’s going to be exciting hosting Notre Dame, a successful program that is rich in tradition,” McCaffery said. “Notre Dame is an extremely well-coached team that has advanced to the last four NCAA Tournaments. This will be another good test for our basketball team early in the season.”

Notre Dame, along with Syracuse and Pittsburgh, joins the ACC this season after spending 18 years in the Big East. It will be the first meeting between Iowa and Notre Dame since 1990. The Irish hold an 8-5 advantage all-time against the Hawkeyes.

With 15 teams in the ACC this upcoming season, Clemson, Wake Forest and Virginia Tech will not be participating. Game times and television information will be announced at a later date, but ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU will combine to televise all 12 games of the two-day event.

Iowa is 2-10 all-time in the Challenge after losing 95-79 at Virginia Tech last year.

McCaffery served as an assistant under Digger Phelps and John MacLeod at Notre Dame from 1988-1999 and helped the Irish reach the NCAA Tournament in 1989 and 1990 and the program reached the NIT finals in 1992.

Iowa is coming off a 25-13 season a year ago, equaling the second-most wins in school history. The Hawkeyes reached the final of the NIT and lost to Baylor.

Notre Dame went 25-10 last year and lost to Iowa State in the first round of the NCAA Tournament.

Iowa will play Notre Dame on Tuesday, Dec. 3. Other games on that day include Florida State at Minnesota, Illinois at Georgia Tech, Indiana at Syracuse, Michigan at Duke and Penn State at Pittsburgh.

Wednesday’s lineup includes Boston College at Purdue, Maryland at Ohio State, Miami at Nebraska, North Carolina at Michigan State, Northwestern at North Carolina State and Wisconsin at Virginia.