Names & Notes

Englin named next president and CEO

The Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa board of directors is pleased to announce the selection of Kaye Englin to serve as the next president and CEO, effective by the end of May. Englin will replace Mary Ann Burk, who has served as president and CEO for 20 years and was the first staff person for the Community Foundation, hired in 1993.

Englin joins the Community Foundation after serving as the vice president of Advancement, Church Relations and Advocacy for Lutheran Services in Iowa for nearly 11 years. In that role, she led the Advancement team to secure LSI’s charitable contributions and funding resources, including annual funds, capital campaigns, endowment campaigns and planned giving efforts.

Englin and her husband John are native Iowans and both grew up on farms near Audubon. They have two children.

Cedar Valley Hospice announces board, committee appointments

WATERLOO – Cedar Valley Hospice has appointed its 2013 Advisory Committee members.

Serving as president of the board of directors is Gia Shannon, vice president, Customer Care at Ocwen Financial; vice president is Chris Schildroth, Lincoln Savings Bank; treasurer is Michael D. Ruffcorn, Independence Federal Bank for Savings, retired; and secretary is Sue Morkel, Waterloo Implement.

New members appointed to the board of directors include: Reanae Bockholt, Junever Heying, Tracy Mudd, Jim O’Connor and Scott Wienands. Returning board members include: Pam Dowie, JoAn Headington, Chris Hyers, Kris Irey, Ed Larson, Shelli Pint and Gene Sandell.

The Grundy Center Advisory Committee members include: Carol Andersen, Donna Blythe, Joan Fogt, Bev Gade, Robert Higgins, Claudia Knapp, Duane Mueller, Joan Raum, Shirley VanDeest and Sonja Wilhau.

Cedar Valley Hospice is a not-for-profit, multi-service agency, providing comprehensive palliative and end-of-life care to terminally ill individuals, support for patients’ families and services to those who grieve. Cedar Valley Hospice serves Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Grundy, Tama, parts of Benton, Chickasaw, Delaware, Fayette, Hardin, Linn and Marshall counties. For more information, visit or call 800-617-1972.

Submit local business news

The Times-Republican invites businesses in its circulation area to submit brief items concerning their employees or businesses for the Names & Notes column, which is published on Sundays.

Potential subjects of these business briefs include announcements of new businesses, branch acquisitions, departures of longtime employees, employee recognitions or new hires. Submissions will be edited and run on a space-available basis. Items must be received by 5 p.m. Thursday for consideration in Sunday’s column.

Submit brief articles and JPEG headshots to: Names & Notes, Newsroom, Times-Republican, 135 W. Main Street, Marshalltown 50158, or call Pam Rodgers at 641-753-6611 or email