District assignments announced for area baseball teams

The Class 2A and 1A district baseball assignments were released by the Iowa High School Athletic Association on Tuesday night.

In Class 2A, both West Marshall and East Marshall will play in District 13 along with 2A No. 1 and district host North Polk, Collins-Maxwell/Baxter, Iowa Christian Academy and Des Moines Christian. The substate final will be played at Dowling Catholic.

The other area 2A school is South Hardin and the Tigers are paired with district host Aplington-Parkersburg, Waterloo Columbus Catholic, Dike-New Hartford, Hampton-Dumont and Hudson in District 6. The substate final site is still yet to be determined.

The Class 1A area teams will be spread around through three districts.

The lone area school in District 4 will be AGWSR and the Cougars will be paired with CAL, Clarksville, Lake Mills, top-ranked Mason City Newman Catholic, North Butler, Northwood-Kensett, Riceville and Rockford.

The district hosts are Mason City Newman and North Butler and the district final will be held at Mason City Newman.

In District 11 sits Colo-NESCO, GMG, Meskwaki Settlement School and North Tama and they are all paired with Belle Plaine, BGM, HLV and Iowa Valley. North Tama and BGM are the district hosts and the district final will be played at BGM.

The final three 1A teams were placed in District 5. Included in that district is BCLUW, Gladbrook-Reinbeck and Grundy Center as well as No. 4 Don Bosco, Dunkerton, Janesville, Jesup, North Linn and Tripoli. Grundy Center and Jesup are the district hosts and the district final will be played in Jesup.