Several Tigers honored for academic success

More than half the Marshalltown Community College women’s basketball team, 16 players from the baseball team and 12 softball players were recently honored for their academic success.

Thirty-four student-athletes in all were named to the NJCAA Region XI All-Academic squads this week. There were 11 Tigers on the first team and 23 more selected to the second squad.

First-team members from the women’s basketball team included Ashley Salgado and Mady Van Metre. Whitney Baker, Jacklyn Bear, Emmeline Huffaker and Stacy Roggentien were the Tiger softball players on the first team and John Bloom, Schyler Kane, Ty Russell, Ben Ryder and Colby Sorenson made the first-team as baseball players.

The folllowing MCC student-athletes also were named to the second team: Mackenzie Gott, Lauren Hansen, Rusty Henio, Alyssa Whitmore, Holli Baker, Hailee Beals, Alexis Farren, Brianna James, Kyndal Milder, Taylor Vaske, Erica White, Sarah Wilson, Daryl Blaskovich, Steven Dreesman, Calvin (Tyler) Evans, Austin Fischer, Justen Folger, Bennett Mann, Sean McGuire, Brandon Parsons, Corey Shung, Zack Throckmorten and Andrew Utterback.

To be selected to the all-academic first-team, student-athletes must achieve a grade point average of 3.50 or better. Student-athletes achieving a grade point average of 3.00-3.49 were placed on the second-team.