Three seats up for Marshalltown School Board election

Three seats on the Marshalltown School Board will be up for election Sept. 10.

The seats are for four-year terms and early indications appear that two of the three people who currently hold the seats will not run for re-election.

Both Larry Schrum and Jason Jablonski indicated recently they don’t plan to run again. Current board vice president Jennifer Wilson said she is leaning toward running for re-election this fall.

The seven-person board is made up of unpaid members residing within the school district who meet at least twice a month.

Pam Swarts served on the board for 12 years including two years as board president before choosing not to run in 2009. She said it can be a very rewarding experience to impact young lives.

“It’s rewarding serving the community in a significant way,” Swarts said.

According to the Iowa Association of School Boards, board members don’t have to be experts in education, just be willing to learn.

“You don’t have to be an expert in education or finances to serve on the school board,” said Mary Jane Vens, director of board development with the IASB. “But you do need to be a wiling learner; someone who learns new ideas and perspectives at every board meeting; someone who takes advantage of outside resources for figuring out how the board can best meet the needs of students.”

To get on the ballot, potential candidates must take out nomination papers at the school district administration office, county auditor’s office or visit the secretary of state’s website at As part of the application process, candidates need to turn in 50 signatures of district residents.

The papers are due at the school district administration office at 317 Columbus Drive by 5 p.m. Aug. 1.

The three elected members will join the four other members on the Marshalltown board in late September, including Kay Beach, John Johnson, Anne Paullus and Sherm Welker.