Two Bobcat coaches are national finalists

DES MOINES – A pair of Marshalltown High School coaches were nominated and finalists for the honor of Coach of the Year as awarded July 26 by the National High School Athletic Coaches Association.

Bobcat boys swimming coach Mike Loupee and MHS assistant baseball coach Jeff Hoogensen were both among finalists in their respective categories. The finalists were honored and the winners were announced at the group’s 48th annual banquet last Friday at the Des Moines Holiday Inn Airport.

Hoogensen was one of eight finalists for the NHSACA’s Boys Assistant Coach of the Year honor, while Loupee was among seven finalists for Swimming Coach of the Year.

In all, there were 19 Coach of the Year winners.

The event was emceed by Dennis Deninger, a former executive producer at ESPN. Iowa State football coach Paul Rhoads and University of Iowa women’s basketball assistant Jan Jensen were both keynote speakers during the week-long convention.

The NHSACA is dedicated to serving high school coaches and athletic directors throughout the U.S. through education, recognition and support; promoting athletics and providing professional servies to its member schools while providing opportunities for all high school coaches.