15 Minutes


Resides: Ankeny

Hometown: Des Moines


Family: My spouse is Ali Kjormoe, who was born and raised in Marshalltown. And we were married in Marshalltown Sept. 20, 2008.

Pets: We have two dogs. Winston is an 8-year-old boxer-mix and Brew is a 7-year-old boxer. They are great dogs with big hearts that makes it easy to open up our home to other dogs in need. This includes when we foster dogs for the Animal Rescue League. The two are very tolerant of all the dogs coming in and out, sharing our dog’s beds and chewing up all their toys!

Hobbies and interests: In my free time I enjoy being with family. I also like to collect and sell sports memorabilia. I enjoy watching and attending all sporting events, especially Atlanta Falcon football games. I am a huge fan, and make an attempt to attend games when they are near Iowa. We have traveled to Atlanta to see their home games. Also, I cheer for the Iowa State Cyclones.


Occupation: Last summer, I began an internship with Mitchell Family Funeral Home of Marshalltown. On Aug. 16, I will officially become a licensed funeral director and I am honored to be joining the profession. I am looking forward to serving residents in the Marshalltown area.

What that means: My duties include meeting with families, doing pre-arrangements, conducting visitations, funerals and embalming.

Best part of job: The best part of the job is helping people. Planning a funeral can be a difficult task for some families. Consequently, it is an honor to help them plan a service for their loved one. It truly touches my heart to know I have helped out in some way.

If I could change jobs I would be/do: Honestly, I would not change my job for anything. I selected the mortuary business as a career later in life. I previously worked in the financial industry, but with layoffs, an unpredictable economy, I knew I needed a change. I dreaded returning to work after weekends and holidays. I started working part-time for the Iowa Donor Network and advanced to team leader. In that position I could recover tissue and bone for transplantation. I knew this was my calling in life; to help people in need, and I wanted to have more face-to- face communication. This motivated me to go back to school at 33. It was challenging at first, but I stuck with it. After a lot of hard work and patience, I graduated with a degree in mortuary science.


Foods: I love all food and enjoy trying new things, but Italian is my favorite.

Sports: Atlanta Falcons and Cyclones

Most influential people: My wife, Ali. With her support, and willingness to get a part-time job while I was a student, was one of the most selfless things she could do for us. She allowed me to follow my dream.

Advice on life: One is never too old to follow their dreams.