Baseball trio selected to INA all-state

DES MOINES – A trio of area seniors rounded out their prep baseball careers by racking up another postseason honor.

Marshalltown first baseman Hunter Hillygus, West Marshall infielder Jared Riemenschneider and North Tama catcher Jacob Wrage each were named to one of their three respective all-state teams as announced today by the Iowa Newspaper Association.

The award is the second in as many years for Wrage, who in 2012 was named to Class 1A’s third team as an outfielder. This summer, Wrage represents the Redhawks on the 1A second team as a catcher. The four-time all-district pick led North Tama with a .441 batting average, 56 hits, 47 runs scored, 16 doubles, two triples and 40 RBIs.

Wrage played catcher in more than half of North Tama’s games this summer, helping the Redhawks to a 27-11 record.

Riemenschneider, a three-time all-district selection, earns his first all-state honor from the INA as a second-team infielder on the Class 2A squad. The senior shortstop/pitcher led West Marshall (21-10) in nearly every offensive statistical category and was one of the Trojans’ top pitchers, eventually earning the Most Outstanding Player honor from the NICL West Division.

Riemenschneider hit .453 with 11 doubles, three home runs and 19 RBIs while scoring 43 times and stealing 28 bases. On the mound he was 6-0 with a 1.41 earned run average and 50 strikeouts over 49 2/3 innings pitched.

Hillygus came to life at the plate a couple weeks into the season for the Bobcats, sparked by a 5-for-5, three double, one home run performance at Ames. After that, he was held hitless in only five games and went on to lead Marshalltown (17-25) in most offensive categories.

He was named to the INA’s all-state third team as a first baseman after finishing with team-highs of 52 hits, 15 doubles, two home runs, 36 RBIs, seven hit-by-pitches, a .397 batting average and a .487 on-base percentage.

Defensively, Hillygus made only three errors in 308 total chances and had 20 assists, logging a .990 fielding percentage.

The Iowa Newspaper Association’s all-state teams honored a senior captain in each class: 4A: Dom Thompson-Williams, OF, Sioux City East; 3A: Gavin Sheakley, P, Clear Lake; 2A: Joey Lehmann, P, Dyersville Beckman; 1A: Casey Hall, UT, Mason City Newman.

Thompson-Williams finished the season batting .465 with 68 hits, 57 runs scored and 30 runs batted in. He also stole 34 bases and was second in 4A in runs scored, hits and stolen bases. He followed up a junior season in which he hit .544 and had 86 hits by helping lead the Black Raiders to a runner-up finish at state. Thompson-Williams plans to play both football and baseball at Iowa Western Community College.

Sheakley led Clear Lake to its first-ever state baseball championship. He earned two wins during the state tournament, and on the season he was 12-0 with a 1.07 ERA and 104 strikeouts in 78 1/3 innings pitched. He also hit .446 with 54 runs scored and 29 stolen bases.

Lehmann led Dyersville Beckman to back-to-back 2A state championships, going undefeated as a varsity pitcher with a two-year record of 22-0. This year, Lehmann went 13-0 with two saves, 135 strikeouts and a 0.47 ERA in 97 innings. The left-hander plans to continue his baseball career at Iowa Central Community College.

Hall led Mason City Newman to its third straight state tournament and its first championship since 2009. The Knights are 99-16 in his three years as a starter. This season he went 8-2 on the hill with 86 strikeouts and a 1.05 ERA in 73 innings while batting .417 with four home runs and 28 RBIs.

Writers making up the INA selection committee were: Ross Thede, Marshalltown Times-Republican; Matt Gengler, Missouri Valley Times-News; Jim Sullivan, Waterloo Courier; Kevin White, Omaha World-Herald; Lori Wiser, Ocheyedan Press-Melvin News; Beth Lutgen, Dyersville Commercial; Greg Grabianowski, Algona Upper Des Moines; Chad Drury, Burlington Hawk Eye; Larry Peterson, Creston News Advertiser; Troy Hyde, Marshalltown Times-Republican; Kristi Nixon, Hampton Chronicle; Perry Bell, Pella Chronicle; Ross Eberhart, DeWitt Observer; Mike Oeffner, Harlan Newspapers; Mike Helle, Knoxville Journal-Express; Jim Leitner, Dubuque Telegraph Herald; Matt Coss, Davenport Quad-City Times; Scott Spurgeon, Bloomfield Democrat; Jeremy Koenigs, Mason City Globe Gazette and John Jensen, Grundy Register.