Six area softball players tabbed for all-state recognition

Marshalltown senior Taylor Wagner struck out just four times in more than 130 plate appearances this past season.

The Bobcat catcher also committed zero errors behind the plate and led her squad in 11 offensive categories.

For those efforts, the Eastern Michigan-bound Wagner earned her second straight Class 5A second-team honor Tuesday when the Iowa Girls’ Coaches Association released its all-state softball teams for all five classes.

East Marshall’s Katie Roseland was a 3A first-teamer for the second consecutive season, while AGWSR sophomore Ashley Sicard earned first-team recognition in 2A.

Roseland’s batterymate – sophomore Mariah Fritz – was chosen to the 3A second team, while Sicard’s batterymate – senior Ella Frazier – was a third-team selection in 2A. BCLUW junior Kendall Scurr earned her first all-state nod as she was named to the 2A second team after leading the Comets at the plate.

Wagner, who was an honorable mention all-stater in 2011, hit a team-best .419 at the plate in 2013, helping the Bobcats (16-23) reach the regional semifinals against West Des Moines Valley. She also led the team with 25 RBIs, 28 runs, 16 doubles and was 12-for-12 in stolen base attempts. Her on-base percentage of .463 was second to only MHS senior teammate Emily DeVenney.

Roseland had another stellar season for the Mustangs, who finished eighth at the Class 3A poriton of the Iowa Girls’ High School State Softball Tournament this past season after racking up 28 wins.

The senior catcher led all of 3A with 14 home runs and was tied for 12th in RBIs with 43. She hit .407, was on base a little less than 50 percent of the time and had a slugging percentage of .823.

Sicard was one of the best pitchers in all of 2A and her efforts helped lead the Cougars (29-8) to a third-place finish at the state tournament.

Sicard went 29-5 in the circle and had an earned run average of just 0.74. Her 247 strikeouts ranked fourth in 2A and she also hit .333 at the plate with six home runs, 11 doubles and 29 RBIs.

Sicard’s bases-loaded, two-run double in the bottom of the seventh inning against Ridge View helped the Cougars lock up the third-place trophy at state.

Both Roseland and Sicard had plenty of teammates worthy of all-state recognition. Fritz and Frazier were the ones picked by the IGCA.

Fritz’s second-team nod in 3A came after the sophomore went 14-6 in the circle with an earned run average of 2.05. She also struck out 142 and walked just 34 while picking up three saves. At the plate, Fritz hit .419 and scored 18 runs.

Frazier’s third-team selection included a .380 batting average, a .416 on-base percentage, two homers, 11 doubles and 24 RBIs.

Scurr was the Comets’ lone all-state selection and she landed on the second team after a stellar season at the dish. Leading the Comets at the plate, Scurr batted .484 with 20 runs scored. She also was 26-for-30 in stolen base attempts.

The Class 5A co-players of the year were Ankeny’s Kendyl Lindaman and Muscatine’s Katie Shoultz, while the pitcher of the year and coach of the year were Claudia Farrell and Matt Murrillo, both of state champion Dowling Catholic.

The Class 4A pitcher and player of the year both came from state champion Dallas Center-Grimes. Paige Lowary, a Missouri commit, was voted the top pitcher, while Macey Wolfe was honored with the top player nod. Indianola’s Stacy Evans was the coach of the year.

Sargent Bluff-Luton had the coach of the year – Tom Prince – and player of the year – Miles Ludwigs – in 3A, while Clarke’s Libby Bemis was the pitcher of the year.

Steve Hopkins of the state champion Durant Wildcats was named coach of the year in Class 2A. Madison Keysor of runner-up Treynor won pitcher of the year and Allie Ingals of North Union was tabbed as the player of the year.

Three different teams split the awards in Class 1A. Kayla Tindall of champion Akron-Westfield was named player of the year, while sophomore Nichole Shutt of Martensdale-St. Marys, the 2012 champion, was the pitcher of the year. Paula Bliben and Duane Blint earned co-coach of the year honors after leading New London to the 1A title game.

New London beat 2012 champion Martensdale-St. Marys and 2012 runner-up Earlham during its trek to the championship contest.