SPORTS SHORT: Hole-in-one leads to Noon Lions win

The Marshalltown Noon Lions hosted their annual golf tournament at Wandering Creek Golf Course, with the team of Doug Weatherman and Ryan Canavan emerging as overall winners in the 2-person best shot sparked by a hole-in-one for Weatherman.

The tandem carded a 63 to win, highlighted by Weatherman’s ace on the 114-yard seventh hole. It marks the second year in a row the Noon Lions tournament witnessed an ace.

Winning the first flight were Tim Bell and Mike Yonkin with a round of 69, followed by Greg Stalzer and Nick Grossman with a 71. Third place in the first flight went to Roger Schoell and Matt Pearson (77).

Second-flight winners were Ted Tycheson and Jeremy Andrews with their 78, followed by the team of Morkin and Kibler with a 78 as well. Doug Husak and Jeff Collins picked up third in the second flight with a 79.

Atop the third flight was John Page and Dwight Long (79), followed by Gene McRill and Bill Bonzer (80) and John and Lisa Blabaum (81).