Four candidates vie for three spots on Marshalltown School Board

Four Marshalltown women are vying for three spots on the Marshalltown School Board in the election Tuesday. Those running for the four-year terms include Kendall Derby, Bea Niblock, Lucero (Mad de la luz) Padilla Solis and Jennifer Wilson. Wilson is the one candidate who is running as an incumbent. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Two current members, Jason Jablonski and Larry Schrum, have opted not to run again.

The ballot will also include a vote on the Physical Plant and Equipment Levy in the Marshalltown school district. The school district is asking for a 10-year extension on the current levy of 67 cents per $1,000 valuation.

The PPEL money is used for improvements to facilities and equipment in the district. The levy currently provides approximately $676,000 to the school district each year.

Marshall County Auditor Dawn Williams said traditionally school board elections have very low voter turnout. Typically, the percentage of registered voters who make it to the polls during school board elections is in the single digits. The last school board election in 2011 drew just 4 percent of registered voters to the polls in Marshalltown.

“We have people who say they are not going to vote because they don’t have kids in school any more,” Williams said. “The school district is using their tax dollars so they should vote.”

Williams said the PPEL levy and the contested races in the county could help bring more voters to the polls Tuesday.

“I’m hopeful turnout will be a little better this time since there is a PPEL and contested races,” she said.

One thing voters in Marshalltown can rely on Tuesday is a ballot that is not very cluttered. The ballot will only have the PPEL vote and the four candidates for three open school board seats on it.

For more information on the election, call the auditor’s office at 641-754-6302.