Blagg paces MHS girls to third at Pella

PELLA – Mixing it up with some Central Iowa Conference competition, the Marshalltown girls cross country team placed third in the large school division of the Pella Invitational at Central College Saturday.

Rachel Blagg paced the Bobcats claiming ninth in a time of 16 minutes, 52 seconds as MHS tallied a team score of 96. Waukee cruised to the title with six runners in the top-13 for a score of 31, while Johnston (86) garnered second.

The Dragons’ Jordyn Kleve clocked 15:44 to top the large school field, while Gilbert’s Grace Gibbons was the overall winner in 15:28.

Marshalltown’s Michaela Huey (17:03) and Wynn Tan (17:27) placed 12th and 17th respectively. Ellyn Boland took 21st in 17:45 and freshman Ashley MacBeth rounded out the scoring quintet in 18:45 for 37th.

Becky Schwartzenburg (44th, 19:16) and Abby Snyder (48th, 20:09) also represented the Bobcats. Southeast Polk (105) edged Cedar Falls (108) and Oskaloosa (109) for fourth. Mount Pleasant (172) and Pella (177) completed the eight-team large school field.

Bobcat boys take 8th

Sam Johnson earned a 26th place finish in 18:46 to guide the Bobcats to eighth out of nine squads in large school competition.

Glenwood (200) edged the Bobcats by three points for seventh, while Knoxville (239) capped the field.

Iowa City West ran away with the title as it had six runners in the top-12 for a score of 31. Pella placed second with 68 points, while Ankeny (98), Southeast Polk (103) and Oskaloosa (103) rounded out the top five.

Like the girls race, it was a small school division runner breaking the tape as Gilbert’s Thomas Pollard covered the course in 16:13. Oskaloosa’s Skylar DeJong led large school runners in 16:21.

Marshalltown’s Angel Pizano came through in 35th at 19:25, while Hunter Barnard (44th) and Alex Mason (45th) each clocked 19:55. Andrew Potter (53rd, 20:24) also figured into the team score and Nate Phillips took 59th in 21:15.

Both MHS squads return to action Thursday in the Bobcat Invite at Marshalltown Community College. 21 schools are slated to compete in the boys’ field along with 20 on the girls’ side. Races get underway at 4:30 p.m.