Derby, Niblock, Wilson elected to school board

The third spot in the Marshalltown School Board election came down to just two votes Tuesday. Kendall Derby got 375 votes to 373 for Lucero (Ma de la luz) Padilla Solis to take the third and final open seat.

The leading vote-getters also elected to four-year terms were Bea Niblock (554 votes) and incumbent Jennifer Wilson (546 votes).

Niblock is a recently-retired principal of Anson Elementary School. She was not available for comment Tuesday night.

Wilson was happy to be re-elected to another four years on the board.

“I’m pretty excited to be able to finish some of the projects that I started,” Wilson said. “It’s always scary going into an election and I’m glad it’s over.”

Derby said she was happy to be elected, but also felt bad for her friend, Padilla.

“I’m pleased,” Derby said. “I would have liked to see Lucero get in. I’m anxious to get to work though.”

Marshall County Auditor Dawn Williams said if these results called in by the precincts match the paper results there will be no need for a recount, even with the slender margin of victory.

The Physical Plant and Equipment Levy passed in the Marshalltown district. It is a 67-cent levy per $1,000 valuation that helps with school district projects and was renewed for another 10 years by a vote of 531 to 174.

“I’m so happy for that to be passed,” Wilson said. “It’s going to allow us to do some things in our facilities plan.”

A total of just 6 percent of eligible Marshalltown voters cast their ballots Tuesday, up from 4 percent during the previous school board election in 2011.