SPORTS SHORTS: Dunkerton sweeps GMG volleyball

GARWIN – Dunkerton netted its second straight Iowa Star Conference win, beating GMG in three sets Thursday night, 25-17, 25-17, 25-23.

The Raiders (2-5, 2-0) were led by Alecia Kimball’s nine kills. Aubrey Duncan had eight kills, three blocks and served 14-for-16 with three aces.

GMG (1-3, 0-1) was led by Olivia Barritt’s six kills and five blocks. Caitlin Appelgate had four kills, six digs, five blocks and two service aces. Jennifer Borota totaled 22 digs. GMG hosts a round-robin tournament today in Garwin.

Bobcat freshmen fall to Dodgers

FORT DODGE – Jasen Hernandez gained 70 yards on just six carries and scored twice, but the Marshalltown freshman football team still lost to Fort Dodge, 34-20, on Thursday night at Dodger Stadium.

Tristan Taylor added another rushing touchdown, while Spencer Dempewolf was 8-of-19 through the air for 76 yards.

The Bobcat freshman will next play arch rival Ames at 4:30 p.m. on Sept. 20. The game precedes the varsity game between Ames and Marshalltown at Leonard Cole Field.

Waukee JV dominates Bobcat Invite

The Waukee junior varsity boys cross country squad claimed the top four individual positions and won the team championship at the 40th Annual Bobcat Invitational on Thursday at Marshalltown Community College.

Marshalltown was led by seniors Jacob Shirar and Konner Kacmarynski, who came in back-to-back at 42nd and 43rd, respectively. Andrew Walker ended up 65th overall.

East Marshall’s Drew Shossow, Nathan Chantland and Kevin Liera, South Tama’s Talon Lamb and Britton Waldo and BCLUW’s Isaiah Ralston, Clark Stevens and Scott Poe also competed.

Drew Schossow placed 34th to lead East Marshall. Isaiah Ralston led BCLUW in 160th place.

Roosevelt girls win Bobcat Invitational

Placing three runners in the top 10, Des Moines Roosevelt wrapped up the JV girls team title with 65 points at the 40th Annual Bobcat Invitational Thursday.

Marshalltown was the only area school with a complete squad and the Bobcats took 10th out of 11 teams with a tally of 260. Victoria Jones led MHS with a 27th-place finish in 18 minutes, 8 seconds. Becky Schwartzenburg took 40th in 18:25 and Ailane Burgos was 14 spots back in 19:02. Selena Sinclair (19:59) and Sabrina Daugherty (20:01) were neck-and-neck for the final scoring spots at 69th and 70th.

Sacorro Mendoza led South Tama County in 174th at 22:32, while Kayla Fisher paced BCLUW in 183rd at 23:15. Maddy Clausen’s 22:34 was good for 188th to guide North Tama. Kaitlynn Ehrig finished 196th in 24:09 to pace Grundy Center.