Three men running for Marshalltown mayor

Three Marshalltown men are vying for the mayor’s seat – Al Hoop, Jim Lowrance and Philip Gavagan.

Running for two open at-large city council seats are six candidates – Incumbent Bethany Wirin, Tom Poole, Bill Martin, Christopher Thiessen, Tim Bradbury and Paul Waldrom.

Merrill Price and Mike Gowdy will run for the 3rd Ward council seat.

Bob Schubert will run unopposed for the 1st Ward seat.

The deadline for candidate filing was 5 p.m. Thursday.