Welker stays on as school board president

The Marshalltown School Board officially added two new members, but kept the top two leadership positions the same during a meeting Monday night.

Sherm Welker was re-elected as president and Jennifer Wilson was re-elected as vice president for the next year by their fellow board members. Bea Niblock and Kendall Derby were officially seated on the board as a result of the Sept. 10 election and Wilson was renewed by voters for four more years on the board as well.

“I’m pleased to be honored with the leadership role,” Welker said. “I’ll continue to do my best to keep us on task and improve the district.”

Welker owns a local construction company and has served as school board president for the last year.

“The board has accomplished a lot of new policies and is headed in the right direction,” Welker said.

The night also saw two board members depart as Larry Schrum and Jason Jablonski chose not to run for re-election. Schrum has been on the board for four years and Jablonski has served for two years.

“Their forethought and oversight on this board has absolutely been great,” Welker said.

Other current members of the board are Anne Paullus, John Johnson and Kay Beach.