MHS ninth at competitive conference golf tourney

NORWALK – It was essentially the same round the Marshalltown boys’ golf team has collaborated on this entire season.

But against this type of competition, the Bobcats simply had to be better than they’d been.

Marshalltown shot a combined 333 team score at Wednesday’s Central Iowa Conference meet at The Legacy Golf Club, placing ninth out of 12 teams.

West Des Moines Valley, behind overall medalist Jeff Swegle, edged Waukee and Dowling Catholic for the conference title, shooting a 293 total. Waukee was in with a 296 and Dowling carded 297.

Swegle, a Stanford University recruit, blistered the par-72 course with six birdies and no bogeys in his medalist round of 6-under 66.

Marshalltown was once again paced by junior Michael Schrempf, who had one birdie and five bogeys in his 4-over-par round of 76. It was good for 14th place individually, making him a second-team all-conference golfer.

“Michael drove the ball well off the tee, which allowed him to shoot a strong round,” said MHS coach Lucas Johnson. “His ability to hit big tee shots and keep it in the fairway put him in prime scoring position for much of the day.”

Schrempf’s 76 matched his low round of the season. It was followed in by Connor Johnson, as the Bobcat senior scored a pair of birdies on his way to an 82.

Brandin Chaloupek put up an 87 and Sam Weatherman shot 88 to round out Marshalltown’s team scoring. Brant McKibben finished with a 91 and Beau Ragland shot 98.

“The Legacy presented one of the toughest tests of golf we faced all year and, other than the state meet, we’d be hard-pressed to find a more competitive field of teams,” Coach Johnson added.

The Bobcats finished behind a pair of teams they had earlier defeated in dual meet play. Ankeny Centennial shot a 309 for fourth place while Ames narrowly edged MHS for eighth place with a 331.

Marshalltown will be the only Central Iowa Conference squad in attendance for Monday’s district tournament in Cedar Rapids. The Bobcats go to Elmcrest Country Club in search of a state tournament bid of any sort, joined in competition by Cedar Falls, Cedar Rapids Jefferson, Cedar Rapids Kennedy, Cedar Rapids Washington, Iowa City High, Iowa City West, Linn-Mar, Ottumwa, Prairie, Waterloo East, Waterloo West and Xavier.

MHS has had only two state qualifiers over the last 10 seasons – John Danielson in 2004 and Jacob Butler in 2008.