Denver edges Mustangs by one point at the tape

LA PORTE CITY – Despite trumping Denver at three of five scoring positions, the East Marshall boys cross country team was edged out by the Cyclones by a point at the Union Invite Tuesday.

Class 1A’s top-ranked Denver totaled 59 points, while 2A No. 6 East Marshall had 60. Dike-New Hartford took third with a score of 114, Class 1A No. 8 BCLUW was fourth (129), while Hudson was 15 points back in fifth. Union and South Hardin each tallied 191, though the host Knights fended off the Tigers with the sixth-runner tiebreaker. Grundy Center took eighth (199) in the field of 12.

Denver’s Kyle Kehoe, rated fourth in 1A, outran the competition in 15 minutes, 58 seconds and CJ May of Aplington-Parkersburg, 26th in 2A, was 15 seconds back.

Dike-New Hartford’s John Crew (16:16) and South Hardin’s Tim Rose (16:27), rated No. 30 and No. 19 in 1A respectively, took third and fourth.

Ben Terrones sparked the Mustangs’ front trio in seventh at 16:37. Nick Meling, rated No. 27 in 2A, was eighth in 16:48 and Caleb Benzing took ninth a second later. Sam Benzing (17th, 17:25) and Josh Benzing (19th, 17:32) rounded out East Marshall’s top five, while Rob Petrie claimed 21st in 17:42.

Class 1A’s No. 14 Cole Silver sparked the Comets with a sixth-place finish in 16:37 and Derek Coulter was four positions back in 16:49. Ben Kuhl (17:45) and Tanner Teske (18:17) placed 24th and 33rd respectively.

Next behind Rose for the Tigers was Zac Farrell who earned 16th in a time of 17:25 and Micah Dorow was 37th in 18:27.

Espen and Finn Cleveland led Grundy Center’s charge. Espen was 18th in 17:29 and Finn’s 17:44 earned 23rd.

Tyler Bovy represented Gladbrook-Reinbeck with a 16th-place performance of 17:18. Jeff Hughes led GMG in 48th at 18:54 and Brian Zobel (61st, 19:41) was the pacesetter for North Tama.