MHS principal receives fellowship award

Marshalltown High School Principal Aiddy Phomvisay has been named one of four winners of the Richard P. Manatt Fellowship in educational administration. He will receive the award from the School of Education at Iowa State University Friday afternoon.

“I’m honored and grateful,” Phomvisay said.

The fellowship provides partial funding ($2,000) to support and develop educational administration scholars as they pursue the ISU doctoral program in educational administration.

Phomvisay is two years into his doctoral work and believes he has two more years left to get his doctorate.

“I love Iowa State,” Phomvisay said. “I love to study and learn.”

His research as part of his doctorate is finding best practices and polices in working with English Language Learner students.

“I’m excited about the research,” Phomvisay said. “My research is directly going to impact our students in Marshalltown.”

Joanne Marshall, associate professor and educational administration program coordinator at ISU, said the award is based on three criteria – scholarship, character and school leadership.

“We thought he really exemplified all three of those,” Marshall said of Phomvisay.

Marshall said Phomvisay has a questioning mind and exudes a positive energy. The award is named in honor of Dick Manatt, who worked nearly 40 years at ISU before retiring in 2002.

Phomvisay is in his third year as principal of MHS. He lives in Marshalltown with his wife, Mindy, and children Elijah, 11, and Emma, 9.

Other winners of the award this year include Mark Ernst of Clear Creek Amana Community Schools; David Ford, of the Southeast Polk Community School District; and Jesse Ulrich, of the A-H-S-T Community School District in Avoca and Walnut Community School District.