Rebel duo take top all-district honors

The first-ever outright district title for Gladbrook-Reinbeck football was further rewarded with the naming of the all-district team.

Two of the Rebels’ most prolific playmakers were selected for the top honors on the all-Class A District 4 squad, as senior running back Chase Clark and junior defensive lineman Zach Pierce picked up respective Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year awards.

Clark leads all of Class A in rushing with 2,122 yards as the state playoffs head to the championship round this week, and his district total of 1,230 yards nearly doubled the closest competition. The 6-foot-3, 205-pound tailback averaged 205 yards per district contest, scoring 13 touchdowns on 134 attempts at an average of 9.2 yards per touch.

Pierce tied for 18th in the district with 31 total tackles, but 10 of them were solo stops for loss. The 6-4, 240-pound defensive end shared the District 4 lead with four solo quarterback sacks and also recovered two fumbles.

GMG senior Austin Vaughn was named the all-district kicker, and Grundy Center senior Jordan Clapp was picked as the district’s top punter for the third year in a row. Vaughn was 8-for-12 kicking field goals this season, including a long of 47 yards, which ranked third in Class A. He was 20-of-23 on extra-point attempts, and 11 of his 39 kickoffs went for touchbacks. Clapp averaged 35.9 yards per punt with a long of 55.

Clark and Pierce were two of sixth-ranked Gladbrook-Reinbeck’s three returning first-team all-district selections, as senior lineman Pete Meyers picked up his second consecutive honor as well. Meyers was one of six additional first-team all-district picks aside from the Player of the Year honorees.

G-R senior Dustin Dinsdale, juniors Bryce Ehlers, Camden Kickbush and Bradon Trepp, and sophomore Colton Dinsdale joined the aforementioned Rebels as first-team selections. Colton Dinsdale was the only sophomore picked to the first team.

Grundy Center, the district runner-up, and BCLUW both had five all-district selections, GMG had three and North Tama two.

Spartan senior lineman Brady Hook and BCLUW junior Blake Cooper were the only repeat selections. Hook was joined by fellow Grundy Center seniors Lane Bangasser and Bryce Moats as well as juniors Brock Rohler and Sam Thompson.

Four of Cooper’s senior teammates received first-team selection as well: Nolan Emley, Tyler Lutes, Taylor Sams and Conner Ubben.

GMG’s honorees were senior Brock Fisher and juniors Bryce Newcomb and Alec Bovenmeyer.

North Tama seniors Omar Martinez and Brandon Kaufman were chosen as well.