Names & Notes

Bloom to retire after 40 years

Curt Hoff, president of United Bank & Trust, announced Michael Bloom, senior vice president and senior trust officer of United Bank & Trust, Marshalltown, will be retiring from the bank on Dec. 31 after a 40-year banking career.

Bloom obtained his Bachelor of Arts and Juris Doctor degrees from the University of Iowa. He has been actively involved with the Iowa Trust Association (president 1988). He also has been active in many Marshalltown charitable organizations serving on several boards of directors and holding officer positions.

Bloom began his career as a trust officer at Security National Bank in Sioux City in 1973. He then moved to Marshalltown, where he was employed at Security Bank for 26 years as a vice president and trust officer. Bloom’s career at United Bank & Trust began in 2003 when he established the trust department at the bank. Bloom has been very valuable to United Bank & Trust and has provided excellent leadership and service over the years.

“I will miss working with our customers to achieve their financial goals,” Bloom said.

In his retirement, he is most looking forward to spending more time with his daughters, Anne and Katie, who both reside in Texas, and grandchildren, Richard and Elizabeth.

The company appreciates the many contributions Bloom has made to the bank and wishes him the best in his retirement.

McFarland Clinic recognizes employees

McFarland Clinic honored 118 physicians and employees this November at the annual Trusted Choice Honors ceremony.

Trusted Choice Honors is a time to recognize employees and providers at McFarland Clinic. Those included were tenured employees (20, 25, 30, 35, 40+ years), 2013 retirees and 2013 new providers.

In addition, four staff members were honored with Trusted Choice Honors Awards. The awards include Caring Professional, Community Service, Employee Excellence and Founders’ Award. The following four individuals represent the many outstanding staff members at McFarland Clinic.

Matt Franco, human resources, was selected as 2013 Caring Professional honoree. This is awarded to a provider or an employee for displaying excellence in customer service.

Duane Otto, human resources, was selected as the 2013 Community Service honoree. This is awarded to a provider or an employee who uses his/her skills and abilities to impact and influence the local community through volunteer service. As part of this award, Duane received $500 to designate to a charity of his choice.

Florence Crow, laboratory, was selected as the 2013 Employee Excellence honoree. This is awarded to a non-physician provider or employee who demonstrates excellence in his/her job.

David Thomas, MD, of the Marshalltown Family Medicine Department, was selected as the 2013 Founders’ Award honoree. This is awarded to a physician who demonstrates exceptional efforts in leadership and motivation to support or advance the organizational goals of McFarland Clinic.

McFarland Clinic is proud to employ numerous outstanding employees to provide expert, coordinated care for our patients in communities across central Iowa.