Marshalltown, South Tama named hosts for state track qualifiers

Both Marshalltown High School and South Tama County High School were named as host sites for the state qualifier meets for this upcoming track and field season, according to the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s website.

Marshalltown was picked as one of six sites in Class 4A, along with Ankeny Centennial, Johnston, Dubuque Senior, Council Bluffs Lewis Central and North Scott.

“We found out about a week ago and are very excited to get the opportunity to host such a big event for our athletes and other athletes around the state,” said Marshalltown Activities Director Craig Huegel.

Huegel said the school put in bids for what events it wanted to host throughout the year. And the Bobcats are willing to host anything.

“We are always going to try to ask to host a class event,” Huegel said. “And if the state wants us to be a host site, we’ll take advantage of that.”

There will be seven other schools at the Marshalltown site along with the Bobcats. The rest of the state will know where they are headed early in the track and field season.

With two host sites located in the Des Moines area, two more on the Eastern side of the state and one on the Western half, the Bobcats could be hosting schools around the Cedar Rapids and Iowa City area.

South Tama will be one of eight host sites in Class 3A, joining Atlantic, Dallas Center-Grimes, Marion, MOC-Floyd Valley, Mount Pleasant, Nevada and Waverly-Shell Rock.

Class 2A host sites include Dike-New Hartford, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont, Manson-NW Webster, Osage, Sioux Center, Tipton, Treynor and Van Meter. The 1A locations include BGM, Belle Plaine, Denver, Earlham, Edgewood-Colesburg, Highland, Lake Mills, Laurens-Marathon, Mount Ayr, Underwood, West Harrison and West Sioux.