PREP WRESTLING: Trojans top section, send nine through to districts

BROOKLYN – The West Marshall wrestling team crowned six champions and advanced nine grapplers from Saturday’s Class 1A sectional meet at BGM to next weekend’s district meet in Pleasantville.

The Section 3 team title also went to the Trojans with 239 points, placing them in the regional team duals they’ll host on Tuesday in State Center. Eighth-ranked West Marshall will open against Iowa Valley at 6 p.m., while No. 11 Ogden and No. 16 Dike-New Hartford meet in the other semifinal.

West Marshall will be bidding for a second consecutive state dual team tournament berth.

The Trojans won three of the first four weight classes, starting with Ross Randall at 106 pounds and 10th-ranked Cole Needham at 113. Cooper White, also rated 10th, took the top spot in the 126 bracket, and Chad Berry gained West Marshall’s first runner-up finish at 132.

Jared Johnson (152), third-ranked Dale Hilleman (170) and Tyler Casady (220) followed with championship finishes, while Renald Bouchard (160) and Christopher Sjoblom (195) gained runner-up results.

Randall (33-11) needed to win just one match to advance to districts, scoring a 9-4 decision over Josh Jordan of Iowa Valley. Needham (44-4) posted a pair of first-period pins, including a win in 1:03 over Lynnville-Sully’s Cole Nickell in the 113 finals.

White (39-9), Johnson (43-8) and Casady (29-21) each recorded two pins as well. Hilleman (45-3) tallied a technical fall in the semifinals and finished off his bracket with a pin of BGM’s Colton Massengale in 2:19.

Berrey (39-15) lost by technical fall to seventh-ranked Drake Healey of Iowa Valley in the 132 finals, but bounced back to win by technical fall over Colfax-Mingo’s Mark Hartgers in the true-second place wrestleback round.

Bouchard (25-19) was pinned by No. 4 Caden Doll of Lynnville-Sully in the finals but did not need a wrestleback win to advance. Neither did Sjoblom (19-12) at 195.

Four for EM/GMG, STC 2

LA PORTE CITY – East Marshall/GMG emerged with three champions and one runner-up from Saturday’s Class 2A sectional hosted by Union Community. South Tama scored one of each, pushing two wrestlers through to next Saturday’s district meet at Marion.

Sixth-ranked Nick Meling (106 pounds), Zach Underhill (126) and Jared Bowman (220) each finished atop their brackets for EM/GMG, while Max Upah endured a true-second place wrestleback match for second at 138.

South Tama’s Kolton Smith defeated Union’s Joey Damro, 3-0, in the 170 finals, while Dalton Vest was a runner-up at 195 after a 4-2 defeat at the hands of Union’s Jace Hadachek. The Trojans’ Kolbie Clark came up short at 138 with a 10-5 loss to EM/GMG’s Upah in the wrestleback round.

Meling (46-2) went 2-0 with a semifinal win by fall and a 5-4 victory over Union’s Derek Holschlag in the finals. Underhill (42-7) pinned both his opponents, including Benton’s Dylan Beaver in 3:13 in the 126 finals. Bowman (27-23) advanced to districts with a pair of decisions, defeating Union’s Keaton Newgren 3-2 in the title bout.

Smith (20-6) posted a first-period pin in his 170-pound semifinal before downing Damro. Vest (22-9) bested Benton’s Drew Kithcart by fall in his semifinal match, and did not have to wrestle back for second place.

AGWSR advances a pair

HUDSON – AGWSR advanced just two wrestlers from a solid Class 1A tournament, coming away with fourth place in the final team standings.

Fourth-ranked Clay Meinders closed out a 2-0 day with a 6-1 decision over No. 7 Mason Lovrien of Clarksville to take the 220-pound title, and Michael Young emerged in second place from the heavyweight bracket. The two will wrestle next Saturday at the district meet in Parkersburg.

The Cougars had three third-place finishers. Brandon Johnson suffered a setback in the wrestleback round, falling 8-6 to Hudson’s Noah Huber at 152. Neither Austin Dolleslager (113) nor Miguel Reyes (126) got the opportunity to wrestle back for true second place.

Young pinned Don Bosco’s Brandon French and Dike-New Hartford’s Tommy Irvin to reach the heavyweight finals, but was pinned by Clarksville’s Skyler Popham.

Storm score two qualifiers

INDEPENDENCE – South Hardin-BCLUW’s Tyler Lutes and Austin Willett were the area’s lone district qualifiers from the Class 2A sectional meet hosted by sixth-rated Independence on Saturday.

Lutes (40-2), rated eighth at 170 pounds, used a major decision to defeat Jacob Page of Charles City in the semifinals and finished off the bracket with a pin in 1:06 of Denver-Tripoli’s Dylan Meister.

Willett won his semifinal match by decision, 3-0, over Tanner Erickson-Dale from Independence, but lost by fall in the first minute of the 126 title bout with Charles City’s Max Forsythe. Willett (15-27) did not have to wrestle back for true second place.

Third-place finishers from the area were Luke Asche (138), Blake Cooper (220) and Nolan Emley (285) from SH-BCLUW, and Ethen Erhardt (120) from Gladbrook-Reinbeck/North Tama-Grundy Center. None of the four got the opportunity to wrestle back for a coveted top-two finish.

Next week’s district meet for the two Storm qualifiers will be hosted by New Hampton.