BOYS HOOPS: Trojans, Tigers set for third meeting in district hoops

STATE CENTER – Duncan Ferch scored 21 points and Matt Van Metre tallied a career-high 20 as the West Marshall boys’ basketball team advanced past North Polk and into the Class 2A District 13 finals with a 68-59 victory at home Saturday afternoon.

The Trojans (18-4) led from the outset and kept North Polk at arm’s reach the rest of the way despite a game-high 22 points coming from Russell Greene.

Blake Brauer added 16 points and Ryley Sandberg matched his season-high with 13 points, but the Comets were eliminated with a 10-13 record after falling to West Marshall a second time this season. The Trojans won 64-49 in Alleman back on Dec. 7, 2013.

Ferch tallied six rebounds and six assists, while Van Metre led West Marshall with seven rebounds and was 8-for-13 shooting from the field.

Reggie Gradwell contributed 11 points and Trenton Keislar added seven for the Trojans, who will advance to face NICL West Division foe South Hardin in Tuesday’s district final at Newton.

South Hardin 56, CMB 55

STATE CENTER – Andrew Wiechmann scored the hoop with some harm and converted the three-point play with a game-winning free throw as South Hardin stunned CMB 56-55 in Saturday’s first game at West Marshall High School.

The Tigers (13-10) trailed by as many as eight points during the game but battled back to prevail in the end. It’s South Hardin’s seventh win in its last eight games.

CMB (15-8) saw its season end with its fifth loss in its final seven contests.

South Hardin will face West Marshall in Tuesday’s district final in Newton, trying to avenge losses of four and nine points to the Trojans during NICL West Division play.

Martensdale-St. Marys 56, Colo-NESCO 46

MADRID – Martensdale-St. Marys outscored the Royals 49-33 after the first quarter to erase an early deficit for a 56-46 win in Class 1A District 11 quarterfinal action Saturday night.

Eddy Kraber scored a game-high 22 points to lead the Blue Devils (16-6), who will meet Lynnville-Sully (18-4) in Tuesday’s district semifinals. The Hawks hammered Woodward-Granger 63-27 in their postseason opener.

Christian Reischauer and Tanner Clatt scored 12 points apiece to lead Colo-NESCO (15-7), which led 13-7 one quarter into the contest. Cole Ozbun added 11 points as the Iowa Star Conference South Division co-champions were eliminated from the postseason.