Iowa State’s Ejim, Kane net national recognition

AMES – A rough finale for Melvin Ejim didn’t overshadow a stellar season as the Iowa State senior was named to The Associated Press All-America second team Monday.

Ejim led the Cyclones with 17.8 points per game and also averaged 8.4 rebounds en route to being named the Big 12 Player of the Year. The Toronto, Ontario, native is the only player in a BCS conference averaging at least 17 points and eight rebounds, while shooting 50 percent from the field and 34 percent from the arc.

Ejim is the fifth Cyclone to earn a spot on the AP’s first, second or third teams, joining Jamaal Tinsley (2001), Marcus Fizer (2000), Jeff Grayer (1988) and Gary Thompson (1957). Ejim has been named an All-American by four different outlets.

Fellow Cyclone senior DeAndre Kane was an honorable mention honoree. The Marshall transfer averaged 17.1 points, 6.8 rebounds and 5.9 assists in his lone season at Iowa State. The Pittsburgh, Pa. native was named the Big 12 Newcomer of the Year and has been recognized as an All-American by five outlets.

Creighton senior Doug McDermott was a unanimous first team selection and became the first player since Patrick Ewing and Wayman Tisdale in 1985 to make three straight AP All-American First Teams. The Ames high school grad averaged 26.7 points, 7.0 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game for the Bluejays.