Hawkeye football names 2014 Leadership Group

IOWA CITY – Iowa football coach Kirk Ferentz announced the 2014 Leadership Group and 12 players made the cut.

This year’s group includes five seniors, three juniors, two sophomores and two redshirt freshmen.

The five seniors are linebacker Quinton Alston, defensive lineman Carl Davis, offensive lineman Brandon Scherff, defensive tackle Louis Trinca-Pasat and running back Mark Weisman. The juniors include offensive lineman Austin Blythe, defensive back Jordan Lomax and quarterback Jake Rudock. The sophomore class is represented by quarterback C.J. Beathard and offensive lineman Ryan Ward and the redshirt freshmen named to the group include linebacker Josey Jewell and offensive lineman Sean Welsh.

“Our entire team, by class, has done an outstanding job of naming quality representatives to this group,” said Ferentz. “I look forward to visiting and working with this group in the coming weeks and throughout next season. Their leadership plays an important role in our program’s success.”

The purpose of the group is to help formulate policies and enter into team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season. Players are selected by a team vote.