Marshalltown Elks #312 honors scholarship winners

Marshalltown Elks Lodge is pleased to have three local students named scholarship winners by the Iowa Elks association.

The students applied for the National Elks Most Valuable Scholarship sponsored by the Elks National Foundation. No local students advanced to the national level but local student Wynn Tan was awarded an $800 one time scholarship from the Iowa Elks Association while Abigail Snyder and Michaela Huey will each receive $500. The Iowa Elks Association gave out 53 scholarships ranging from $500 to 800 for the 2013-2014 year.

Snyder and her family were honored guests at the Marshalltown Elks April family potluck supper. Tan and Huey were unable to attend due to other commitments.