Heart of Iowa Chorus celebrates another year

The Heart of Iowa Chorus celebrated another year of singing on May 12.

The event began with installation of new officers. Elected to the position of President was Lois Eige, Vice President – Elaine Crouse, Secretary – Sue Bryant, and Treasurer – Beth Campbell. Cory Stiehl and Jolene Kubli will complete the board as Director Assistants.

Three members were awarded pins for 10 years of service; Sandy Bishop, Cory Stiehl and Beth Campbell while Andrea Byerly was recognized for 30 years of service. Each year a member is selected for the S.A.L.L.Y. (Sweet Adeline Leading Lady of the Year) award. This year that award was presented to Cory Stiehl for her attendance, chorus involvement and work as Interim Director.

The Heart of Iowa Chorus also presented a gift and sang to outgoing director, Donna Gruis who has directed the chorus for the last seven years. Beginning June 3, the chorus will be under the direction of Jacob Barker. Any women, young or old, that love to sing are invited to join us for rehearsal. The chorus will meet every Tuesday night (beginning in June) 7 to 9 p.m. at Marshall Town Center, next to Foot Locker. Contact Lois Eige, 753-8463.