Bobcat Athletics fundraiser a success

I am writing this letter in appreciation for all of the people who participated in the 2014 Bobcat Athletics golf fundraiser June 17. We had 19 groups golf in our morning session delayed one hour by weather, and 34 groups golf in the afternoon session. Many thanks go to:

The MHS athletic office staff: Cindy Braack, Laura Gould, Linda Leaton, Barb Lageschulte and Grant Carter, for their many hours of preparation. Our MHS coaches and student-athletes: I received many compliments about how nice it was to see you out on the course. Thank you for your efforts!

The American Legion: John Schrempf, Pam Clinefelter, and their staffs. You made the day go very smoothly.

Regina Tuttle and Shelli Finch, for their help in producing promotional materials.

Our business sponsors: Emerson, Fisher Controls, Boland Recreation, Hy-Vee, Stalzer Photography, Marshalltown Medical & Surgical Center, Lennox, Independent Insurance, R.S. Stover, Anderson Funeral Homes, Hanke Refrigeration Service, Old Timer Tavern, Five Star Realty, Racom, Marshalltown Company, Shomo-Madsen Insurance, Times-Republican, Premier Office, Fareway, and Wells Fargo Advisors, Mama DiGrado’s and Animal Clinic-the Vet.

Our businesses that donated raffle items: R.S. Stover,Fisher Controls, Elmwood Country Club-Jerry Johnson Pro Shop, the American Legion, Sports Page, Taco John’s, KDAO, Cecil’s Caf, Jensen Ford, Coca-Cola, Mama Di Grado’s, Linn Creek Indoor Golf, Apgar Photography, Tremont, Action Auto Parts, Applebees, State Farm, HyVee Drug, Home Federal, IA Farm Bureau, Fareway, Isle of Green, Transamerica, United Bank & Trust, Mediacom and Zeno’s.

I apologize if I have missed anyone, the donations were coming in fast and furious.

Congratulations to the following golfers. You have gift certificates from the American Legion to use on your next visit.

Overall Champions: Mark Rohde, Peter Collison, Mark Collison, Tom Apgar.

Championship Flight AM: Paula Wantiez, Tyler Slagle, John Wantiez, Kara Slagle, Chris Hawkins, Joe Miller, Matt Crandon and Nick Horbach.

First Flight AM: Ryan O’Neal,Aiddy Phomvisay, Joe Stonner, Tim Bell, Grant Brintnall, Craig Huegel, Brynjar Brynjarsson and Rob Weatherly.

Championship Flight PM: Rick Hanke, Jody Anderson, Chris Cooper, Lee VanCleave, Brandon Dutton, Andrew Tuttle, Darin Shipley and Kip Hilderbrand

First Flight PM: Brian Wilkie, Jerry Major, Marty Sharer, Bruce Johnson, Chad Weir, Mark Henson, Dick Russell andMatt Estabrook.

Second Flight PM: Kent Loney, Ross Thede, Bruce Williams,Troy Hyde, John Oetker, Tyler Hyde, Bill Welp and Lane Bangasser.

Longest Drive #2: Kiel Stevenson; Closest to Pin #7: Jerry Gazaway; Longest Putt #8: Chad Weir;

Closest to Pin #9: Kara Slagle; Longest Drive #17: Heather Van Buren

It takes a lot of community to support our athletic and activities programs, and we never overlook that. The Marshalltown athletic department thanks you sincerely, and looks forward to your continued support of this event, and our students.